Tripura Election 2018: Polling begins for 59 out of 60 seats

Tripura Election 2018: Polling begins for 59 out of 60 seats

Political analysts believe that the Left Front in Tripura is facing a run for its money in 2018 by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) despite its impregnability and incumbency in the highest echelons in state's power exceeding twin decades.

Two CPI (M) supporters were injured in Golaghat in an alleged attack by supporters of IPFT.

Over 45% voting has been recorded till 1pm.

The voting for Tripura Assembly elections is now underway for 59 seats. The constituency will go to polls on March 12. A total of 292 candidates are contesting the elections, out of which 23 are women. Counting will take place on March 3.

The Congress, which fought Assembly elections in alliance with the tribal party since 1983, entered the poll battle alone this time.

"Home minister has agreed to constitute a high-level inter-ministerial team to analyse our demand for a separate Tipraland". The IPFT, an anti-Left party, contested from the remaining nine seats. The party has not fielded any candidate for Kakrabon constituency in Gomati district. However, its official nominee Sukumar Chandra Das in Kakraban-Shalgarha Assembly seat (Reserved-Scheduled Caste) withdrew his nomination and joined the BJP.

The Trinamool Congress fielded 24 candidates.

Polling is taking place for 59 seats, out of a total of 60 constituencies.

Of the 60 seats, 20 are reserved for tribals and 10 for Scheduled Castes. "BJP is for one Tripura".

Do not test our resolve, Israel warns Iran
Israel's Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu has issued a warning to Iran over the actions of its "proxies" in Syria. Two of the detainees worked closely with Netanyahu in the past, the person said.

Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti said the Election Commission has appointed police observers, general observers and expenditure observers to ensure hassle-free polls.

Over 30,000 civil officials would be engaged in the conduct of the elections.

Of the 3,174 polling stations, as many as 47 were entirely handled by women personnel.

Eleven transgender voters exercised their adult franchise rights across Tripura today. Officials said that the voters had reached the polling stations well within the closing time but had to wait for their turn.

For security, 300 companies of central security forces have been deployed and the 856km India-Bangladesh border sealed.

"Opposition parties always depend on the anti-incumbency sentiment of voters".

There is "nothing unusual" of the VVPAT and EVMs technical snags reported during the voting on Sunday's voting for the Tripura assembly. "People strongly wish for a BJP government in Tripura". "They have used all methods to win in Tripura as they have declared that Left-ruled states, including Kerala, are their main targets", Yechury said.

But BJP's poll in-charge of Tripura Himanta Biswa Sarma countered such a claim. Besides, Prime Minister Modi, weveral senior leaders of the party addressed rallies in Tripura.

Related Articles