Georgia Bulldogs win SEC Title in Kirby Smarts Second Season

Georgia Bulldogs win SEC Title in Kirby Smarts Second Season

The second-year Georgia head coach was voted as the SEC Coach of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday.

Defensive Player of the Year: Roquan Smith, Georgia - For the second season is a row, he leads Georgia in tackles with 113, with 10.5 for a loss, and 5.5 sacks.

The SEC Network's official Twitter account sent out a photo of Hummer driving around Atlanta with a TV strapped to the back with Saturday's SEC Championship game playing over and over.

In his two years at Georgia he is 20-6 and now his team has a shot at a national title. Smith, Georgia's star LB and Butkus Award victor, was the highest rated player on the defensive side of the ball.

Man City willing to go to £50M for Alexis in January
Pep Guardiola's side are already high-flying and the addition of Sanchez would be awful news for the rest of the Premier League. If Pep Guardiola is successful in landing the 28-year-old in Etihad Stadium, City will be impossible to beat on any ground.

Smart, who was named the Associated Press SEC Coach of the Year earlier this week, was also voted by the coaches as the conference's Coach of the Year.

Carlson is the first SEC player to garner Special Teams Player of the Year honors multiple times in his career. Smith was named the MVP of the SEC Championship Game. LSU quarterback Danny Etling is scholar-athlete of the year and Auburn offensive guard Braden Smith won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy. He was elected vice chair of the SEC Football Leadership Council and is a CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree. Smith was also named to the midseason All-America team.

The bulldogs are SEC champions for the first time since 2005.

Related Articles